Who says gaming is for losers?

I am quite impressed with some news I saw this morning.  A team of surgeons is now developing an application for Microsoft’s Xbox Kinect that will allow surgeons to manipulate images during a surgery without removing their gloves.  It is all very futuristic.  It reminds me of being a child and watching all the science fiction movies where space ship captains would guide their crusier using only movents of their hand and body.  It even reminds me of some of the more recent movies where electronic items are controlled with the wipe of a finger on a huge clear board.  While this is great for remembering the past what does it mean for the future of medicine?

I personally am very excited to be part of a team that is pushing medical technology forward.  I train clinical staff, doctors, and nurses on how to use a new breed of electronic health records.  I see technology advancements everyday.  I must say, however, this is one of my favorites.  Allowing a surgeon to navigate images of a patient without having to physically interract with a computer will eventually lead to shorter surgery times, less chance of infection, and the ability to perform surgeries with greater accurracy.  All of this boils down to better paitent care.

It is pretty amazing to me what is happening in the healthcare world.  Take a look at this video about this app and tell me what you think. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5Ep3oqicVU&feature=player_embedded

About SSR Designs

SSR Designs is all about art. While we specialize in photography and grapic design for the music industry we are still artists first. View all posts by SSR Designs

Comments are disabled.

